6 years of friendship~

Recently I learnt what it meant when we say this solemn vow to our spouse at Holy Martrimony. ”I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.”

We have always been confirmation friends, though he was an extreme introvert. Joshua never really have spoken to me then and we were at about 14 – 15 years of age. I noticed him as he was playing keyboard for our youth music ministry. 

This June Awaken, I had the urge to look for this particular Joshua , no matter what it took I just had to find him! And that was 2-3 weeks before Awaken. Day 1 of Awaken, he came to my station for Pictionary , he had a 1 on 1 contact with me and perhaps there was too many participants, I did not recognise him at all.

Day 2 night, I stopped him at the door and looked at his name tag. Strangely, he stopped too 🙂 I then said, Hey! You look familiar. and he said HI JONELLA! *goodness!!!!!!!! most bimbo embrassing moment JO!!! * It turned out that he recognised me since Day 1 of games. -.-

His faciliators are my best friends and we have journeyed together in Intercessory. They shared with me that he said he had leukemia. Which of course I never knew! So I felt the urge to write notes to him…. Hence, I did! And slowly Joshua stopped me and shared the most emotional tragic crazy event which he had gone through… True enough, they were right. My heart just sank right down when I heard it. What went through my mind was ‘Why wasn’t I there for him when he needed someone’ ?!

I continue to pray for him, fast for him and whatever worship I gave to Jesus, it was a sacrifice for Joshua’s breakthrough. I was desperate for Jesus’s touch!

Day 3, I continued writing him letters and DAY 4! OUTPOURING!!!! 🙂 He has finally rested in the Spirit. I felt a breakthrough had happened! not because he rested but because Jesus is with him!!!! 😀

I pushed through the crowd, and immedinately he jumped at me and grabbed me tightly refusing to let me go. It was the tightest hug I have never expereienced. but it was GOOODDDD. It turned out that he said he had a breakthrough and he was LIBERATED!!! 

All these while for 2 years, he was under such pain , tormoil, depression, lonliness. No one was there for him besides his Amry mates, close friends and family. He has never spoken to anyone about what he has just gone through and deep inside he was searching for someone to share that part of him ~ with.

And I realised that Jesus had placed me back into Joshua’s life to be there with him ”I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health.”. Yes, It has dawn on me of what the VOW mean’t. 

I have been feeling extremely peaceful, happy, crazy ever since Awaken has happened. Thank you Jesus for putting second chances. I have been crazily excited with you each day since 18 June 2012.

Image

Till then, it sounds so cliche.  I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. To be there with you when you need someone, to pray with you to journey with you, to walk through all kinds of sufferings and hardships to be with you each step of your way. Through all the pain and sufferings you may go through. May I shed the light of Jesus onto your life and be an inspiration and encouragement for you to push on!

I am glad to have met you 6 years ago when we were 14 years old in OLPS 🙂 Thank you for reconciling our friendship, to pick up where we left off and go deeper. To even wanting to pursue our friendship 🙂


Leave a Reply

